Myanmar parliament speaker U Shwe Mann concedes loss in election

Updated: 2015-11-09 14:54


  Print Mail Large Medium  Small 分享按钮 0

Myanmar parliament speaker U Shwe Mann concedes loss in election

A woman casts her ballot during the general election in Yangon, Myanmar, on Nov 8, 2015. Myanmar's multi-party general election began across the country Sunday morning at 6 am local time with 33.5 million eligible voters starting to go to polls and cast votes at respective polling stations. [Photo/Xinhua]

YANGON - Current speaker of Myanmar's Union Parliament and House of Representative U Shwe Mann, who competed in Sunday's general election representing the ruling Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP), conceded personally having lost in the polling in his facebook Monday.

U Shwe Mann, who claimed to have been defeated by opposition National League for Democracy (NLD)'s U Than Nyunt in running a seat of the House of Representatives in the election in Bago region's Phyu constituency, has extended congratulation to his winning rival, he added.

NLD Chairperson Aung San Suu Kyi won in the general election, securing a seat with the House of Representative in the next parliament, according to the NLD sources.

Competing in Yangon's Kawhmu constituency, Suu Kyi, who is also a current parliamentarian, won against her rival U Kyaw Zin Hein from the USDP.

Chairman of the ethnic Arakan National Party (ANP) Dr. Aye Maung also admitted personally in an interview with Xinhua that he lost in the election competed in Rakhine's Manaung constituency for an ethnic representative to the Rakhine State Parliament but saying that his party's status is still good.

The election result is expected to be officially released by the Union Election Commission later on Monday.

A number of leaders of Myanmar's ruling party and current ministers were initially reported lost by local media in Sunday's general election, while NLD is leading as winner of the election .

USDP fed 1,122 candidates, while NLD fielded 1,123 in running the election.

A total of 6,038 candidates involving 91 political parties and 310 independent runners competed for more than 1,000 seats at three levels of the parliament in the election.

The Union Election Commission designated 1,150 constituencies for the vote at three levels of the parliament across the country.

Of them, 323 constituencies are for contesting seats of House of Representatives, 168 for House of Nationalities, 630 for the Region or State Parliament and 29 for ethnic representatives.