HK team dominates World Windsurfing Championships in Philippines

Updated: 2012-12-17 10:39


  Print Mail Large Medium  Small 分享按钮 0

BORACAY Island, Philippines - Hong Kong players won men's and women's championships at the World Windsurfing Competition held in Boracay, a world-famous resort island in central Philippines, the organizer announced Sunday.

In an official result released Sunday morning, Hei Man Chan won the gold medal in the Women Espoir Division (under the year of 22), while Blanca Alabau from Spain took home silver and Kwan Ching Ma, also from Hong Kong, grabbed the bronze medal.

For the Men's Espoir group, Hong Kong player Chun Ting Lee was declared the champion while another Hong Kong player Lok Yiu To won the silver medal, and Philippines' Yancy Kaibigan took home the bronze medal.

Spain's Olympic gold medalist Marina Alabau took home the championship in the One Women World Championship, followed by Hei Man Chan of Hong Kong and Bryony Shaw of Great Britan at the third. Alabao won the Olympics in London while Shaw won the bronze medal in the Beijing Olympics in 2008.

In the One World Championships, Geylord Coveta of the Philippines won the gold medal, while Chang Tao of Taipei grabbed the second place. Yuta Nagano of Japan held the third place.

The World Windsurfing Competition, organized by the Neil Pryde, is a pre-Olympic competition which was participated by 18 countries in Europe. It was held from Dec 11 to 15 at the front beach of Boracay.