China wins 3 golds on final day of Short Track Speed Skating Worlds

Updated: 2013-03-11 09:55


  Print Mail Large Medium  Small 分享按钮 0

China wins 3 golds on final day of Short Track Speed Skating Worlds


China's team Yang Zhou, Qiuhong Liu, Meng Wang and Kexin Fan celebrate on the podium after they won the women's 3000m relay final at the ISU World Short Track Speed Skating Championships in Debrecen March 10, 2013.  [Photo/Agencies]

BUDAPEST - China won three gold medals on the final day of the World Short Track Speed Skating Championships in Debrecen, East Hungary, on Sunday.

With South Korea's Park Seung-Hi ousted from the semifinals on a penalty, the women's 1000-meter final was smooth sailing for China's Wang Meng, Olympic and world champion, who took the gold in one minute, 31.549 seconds, ahead of Jorien Ter Mors of the Netherlands in 1:31.609 and Elise Christie of Britain in 1:32.281.

Sin Da Woon of South Korea clocked 1:30.374 to win the men's 1000m race ahead of Sijnkie Knegt of the Netherlands who finished in 1:30.406 and Canada's Charles Hamelin in 1:40.094.

South Korean skaters also dominated the 3000 Superfinals with Shim Suk Hee sailing to victory among the women and Kim Yun-Jae winning the men's competition.

Although Wang Meng was disqualified in the 3000 Superfinals, the 68 points earned as she won the 500m and 1000m events were enough for her to clinch the overall title, which was decided by aggregated point in 500m, 1000m, 1500m as well as the 3,000 Superfinals.

The second place went to South Korea's Park Seung-Hi who grabbed 58 points while her compatriot Shim Suk Hee the Superfinal winner, took third place with 55 points.

South Korea's Sin Da Woon took the overall title for men. Superfinal winner Kim Yun-Hue placed second with 55 points and Charles Hamelin was third with 39 points.

China's superstar Wang also help her team to win in the women's 3000m relay in 4:14.104, with Canada finishing second and Japan coming in third. In the men's 5000m relay, Canada took first place, Russia finished second and the Netherlands were third.

Previous Page 1 2 Next Page