Australia's new government sworn in

Updated: 2013-09-18 15:48


  Print Mail Large Medium  Small 分享按钮 0

Australia's new government sworn in

The new Prime Minister of Australia Tony Abbott (3rd L) poses with his daughters Louise (2nd R), Bridget (2nd L), Frances (L), his wife Margie and the Governor-General Quentin Bryce (R) after the official swearing in of government ministers at the Government House in Canberra Sept 18, 2013. Abbott unveiled his first cabinet on Monday, appointing experienced lawmakers and promising a return to stable government after three years of often tumultuous minority centre-left rule. [Photo/Agencies]

CANBERRA - Tony Abbott and his new cabinet have been sworn in by the Governor-General Quentin Bryce at the Government House in Canberra on Wednesday, making him Australia's 28th prime minister.

Abbott held his first executive council meeting at Government House with Governor-General Bryce, before attending the swearing- in of his ministers and parliamentary secretaries.

Before calling his ministers one by one for the swearing in, Abbott said the government under Liberal-National Coalition would scrap the carbon tax, stop the boats and get the budget back into surplus.

Abbott said he would govern "for all Australians, including those who didn't vote for us."

"We won't forget those who are often marginalised, people with disabilities, indigenous people and women struggling to combine career and family. We will do our best not to leave anyone behind. "

He also said the new government aims "to be a calm, measured, steady and purposeful government that says what it means and does what it says."

"We hope to be judged by what we have done, rather than by what we have said we would do."

Abbott introduced his team to subscribe the oath of office before the Governor-General.

Nationals Leader Warren Truss was sworn in as Deputy Prime Minister and Infrastructure and Regional Development Minister, followed by new foreign minister Julie Bishop, Minister for Employment Eric Abetz, Attorney-General George Brandis, Treasurer Joe Hockey and the rest of the 18 cabinet ministers, 11 ministers and 12 parliamentary secretaries.

Previous Page 1 2 3 4 Next Page