Three scientists share 2014 Nobel Prize in Physics

Updated: 2014-10-07 19:02


  Print Mail Large Medium  Small 分享按钮 0

Three scientists share 2014 Nobel Prize in Physics

Physicists Per Delsing, Staffan Nordmark, Anne L'Huillier and Olle Inganas (seated L-R) announce Japanese scientists Isamu Akasaki and Hiroshi Amano, and U.S. scientist Shuji Nakamura (L-R) as the 2014 Nobel Physics Laureates at the Royal Swedish Academy of Science in Stockholm, October 7, 2014. [Photo/Agencies] 

STOCKHOLM - Three scientists won the 2014 Nobel Prize in Physics for their invention of blue light-emitting diodes, a new energy efficient and environmentally friendly light source, the award-giving body announced Tuesday.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2014 to Isamu Akasaki and Hiroshi Amano from Japan and Japan-born US scientist Shuji Nakamura.

During an onsite telephone interview, Nakamura said it was really "unbelievable" to be informed of this prize despite being waken up in the midnight.

Commenting on this year's invention, Prof. Olle Inganas from the Nobel Committee of Physics said it was "benefiting of the mankind" and thus in accordance with Alfred Nobel's will.