President Xi appoints eight new ambassadors

Updated: 2015-03-20 07:15


  Print Mail Large Medium  Small 分享按钮 0

BEIJING - President Xi Jinping has appointed eight new ambassadors, according to a statement from the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress (NPC) on Thursday.

Yi Xianliang was appointed ambassador to Sri Lanka, replacing Wu Jianghao.

La Yifan was appointed ambassador to Ethiopia, replacing Xie Xiaoyan.

Zhuo Ruisheng was appointed ambassador to Burundi, replacing Yu Xuzhong.

Kuang Weilin was appointed head of China's permanent mission to the African Union.

Jiang Yu was appointed ambassador to Albania, replacing Ye Hao.

Ye Hao was appointed ambassador to Slovenia, replacing Zhang Xianyi.

Zhang Ping was appointed ambassador to Fiji, replacing Huang Yong.

Fu Cong took the place of Wu Haitao, and was appointed deputy permanent representative to the United Nations Office at Geneva and other international organizations in Switzerland.

Xi made the appointments in line with decision made by the Standing Committee of the NPC, the nation's top legislature.