Polish president appoints new gov't

Updated: 2014-09-22 20:10


  Print Mail Large Medium  Small 分享按钮 0

WARSAW - Polish President Bronislaw Komorowski appointed the Polish government led by the newly sworn-in Prime Minister Ewa Kopacz at the presidential palace on Monday.

Replacing Donald Tusk, who was to head the European Council, Kopacz became 14th prime minister of the Third Polish Republic, and the second female politician to hold that post.

Apart from Kopacz, 18 ministers including five new faces obtained their acts of nomination.

Janusz Piechocinski, the head of Polish Peasants' Party, in coalition with the ruling Civic Platform, were appointed Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Economy.

Tomasz Siemoniak continues to perform duties of Deputy PM and Minister of National Defense. Grzegorz Schetyna was appointed Minister of Foreign Affairs, and Cezary Grabarczyk Minister of Justice.

New ministers also include Teresa Piotrowska, Minister of Internal Affairs, Andrzej Halicki, Minister of Administration and Digitization, and Maria Wasiak, Minister of Infrastructure and Development.

The Kopacz government is scheduled to face a vote of confidence in parliament next month, but it is expected to pass since the governing coalition enjoys a majority.