Li Na named Laureus exceptional award winner

Updated: 2015-04-15 20:58


  Print Mail Large Medium  Small 分享按钮 0

Li Na named Laureus exceptional award winner

Li Nareacts during a Laureus interview event at the Shanghai Grand Theater in Shanghai, April 14, 2015. The Laureus Award ceremony will be held in Shanghai on Wednesday night. [Photo/IC]

Novak Djokovic of Serbia, currently ATP world No. 1, was honored Sportsman of the Year, uppering other five nominees: Lewis Hamilton (Britain), Renaud Lavillenie (France), Rory McIlroy (Britain), Marc Marquez (Spain) and Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal).

"It's the most prestigious sports award without a doubt, because of the fact that it's a recognition and respect that you get from being selected as a top athlete from the members of the Sports Academy of Laureus," Djokovic tole

Djokovic won the Wimbledon for the second time in 2014, defeating Roger Federer of Switzerland in the final in five sets, and it was his seventh career Grand Slam title, which enabled him to return to No. 1 for first time since week of September 30, 2013.

After winning ATP World Tour Finals, Djokovic clinched his fourth season-ending crown, also becoming the first player since Ivan Lendl (1985-1987) to win 3 year-end titles in a row.

German football team got the Team of the Year for their success in FIFA World Cup in Brazil. After winning over Argentina 1-0 through overtime in the final, they became the first European team to win the most prestigious honor of FIFA in South America.

Australian motor racer Daniel Rhicciardo won the Breakthrough of the Year award, while the Comeback of the Year award belonged to South African rugby player Schalk Burger, who survived life-threatening bacterial meningitis to Springboks team.

American Tatyana McFadden won the Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability award. As a wheelchair racer, she won Boston, Chicago, London and New York marathons. She is also a Winter Paralympic champion.

The Action Sportsperson of the Year was given to skydiver Alan Eustace, who jumped 135,889 feet to break Felix Baumgartner's 2012 free fall world record.